Last Updated: September 8, 2026
Best Tutoring Options for Students With Learning Differences in Canada

Short answer: there is no single best option, and any page naming one is guessing about your child. Eleven real routes exist in Canada and they do different jobs. Your school board is the only one that can identify your child formally and write an Individual Education Plan, and it charges nothing. A learning disabilities association will tell you what to ask for, also free. If reading is the problem, a practitioner trained through the Orton-Gillingham Academy, Wilson or Barton teaches a specific method, and those three sit at very different training levels. Agencies cover subject teaching. A marketplace is cheapest and leaves the most checking to you. One thing holds throughout: none of them can diagnose your child, and none can write an IEP.
| Option | Best for | Who actually teaches | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Your school board | A formal identification, an IEP, and a free assessment | Board resource teachers, psychologists, speech-language pathologists | No fee. The wait is the cost |
| Your provincial LD association | Guidance on identification, rights and what to ask the school | Non-profit staff. Guidance rather than teaching | Free |
| An Orton-Gillingham Academy practitioner | Dyslexia, at the highest training bar | Clinical level is 170 hours of coursework and 300 supervised lessons | Set by each practitioner |
| A Wilson-credentialed practitioner | Structured reading, on a credential that expires unless renewed | W.D.P. or W.D.T. holders, renewed every five years | Set by each practitioner |
| A Barton tutor | Lower-cost structured reading, including a parent teaching at home | Anyone passing the Barton screening. No teaching background needed | Materials plus the tutor's rate |
| Edify Learning Spaces | A Canada-wide agency built only for neurodivergent children | Educators trained in education or a mental health field, three years experience | Not published |
| Oxford Learning | An in-centre option with a named learning-differences service | Not stated whether tutors are certified teachers | Not published |
| Tutor Doctor | In-home tutoring, matched locally | Described on the Vancouver page as professionals with special education experience | Not published |
| Prep Academy Tutors | In-home tutoring by certified teachers | Certified and accredited. Learning-difference experience sits in individual bios | Not published |
| Genie Teacher | Curriculum-aligned subject teaching by a certified Canadian teacher | Certified teachers, credentials verified before a profile goes live. No learning-difference filter | $45 to $72 an hour |
| A general marketplace (Superprof, Preply, Wyzant) | Widest choice, lowest prices, most checking left to you | Whoever signs up. Wyzant requires no background check at registration | Set by each tutor |
Read it as a sequence rather than a shortlist. The free routes come first, because an identification changes what the school owes your child. Then pick by the problem: decoding and spelling point to a structured reading practitioner, a failing subject to a teacher who knows that course, and lost homework to coaching.
What we checked, and what we found
Search this question and almost every answer on the first page is a company selling tutoring. The Canadian results today give two agencies, two auto-generated tutor directories both titled around "10 best", a marketplace, a franchise, a clinic and a Facebook thread. Not one compares itself to anything, and the two pages promising the ten best are lists of freelancer profiles with a bio and a booking button, with no statement of who ranked them or how.
The pages artificial intelligence assistants quote are a different set. Ask ChatGPT, Gemini or Google's AI this question and they pull from Dyslexia Canada, the Learning Disabilities Association of Canada, the International Dyslexia Association Ontario Branch and the provincial associations. Almost none appear in Google's own top twenty, none of the three names a winner, and all three tell the parent to match the credential to the difficulty and to ask the tutor to read the child's plan.
Accuracy here is uneven, and one example involves the number a parent is most likely to repeat. Tutor Doctor's Vancouver special-needs page states, read on 8 September 2026: "In 2017, Statistics Canada reported that more than 59% of children in the country have a learning disability." The real figure runs the other way round. The Learning Disabilities Association of Canada, citing Statistics Canada, reports that 3.2% of Canadian children have a learning disability, and separately that "of all the children with disabilities in this country, more than half (59.8%) have a learning disability". Those are two different denominators. A figure describing children who already have a disability has been turned into a figure describing all children, which overstates it by a factor of about eighteen. That is why every figure here carries its source and the date we read it.
"Certified teacher" and "special education trained" are two different claims
This is the distinction that matters most, and almost nothing on Google's first page draws it.
In Ontario, a teacher licensed by the Ontario College of Teachers is certified to teach a division, such as primary or senior. That base certification does not include training in special education. Special education is an elective Additional Qualification in three tiers: Part 1 needs only base certification, Part 2 adds one school year of successful teaching, and Specialist adds two school years of teaching, counted as 388 days, of which at least one year must be teaching special education students under supervision certified by a supervisory officer. Each course session runs a minimum of 125 hours.
So a teacher can be fully certified, excellent, and have no special education training at all. Neither is a criticism. What matters is that "our tutors are certified teachers" and "our tutors are trained in special education" are separate claims, and a provider making only the first has not made the second. Ask which Additional Qualification the teacher holds and at which part. How to check a teacher's certification walks through the public register, and what provincially certified actually means covers the base licence.
The free route, before you pay for anything
Almost every paid option works better after the school route than instead of it, because the school route is where the legal entitlements live.
In Ontario, a child is formally identified through an Identification, Placement and Review Committee. Ontario Regulation 181/98 requires the principal to ensure an Individual Education Plan is developed within 30 school days of placement in a special education programme, setting out the expectations, the services, and how progress will be reviewed. Parents may take part in all of the committee's discussions, and the regulation carries a formal appeal process. Policy and Program Memorandum 8 says explicitly that this is an identification definition, not a clinical diagnosis.
British Columbia works differently. The Individual Education Plan Order M638/95 requires a board to design an IEP for a student with disabilities or diverse abilities, reviewed at least once each school year. The Inclusive Education policy of the British Columbia Ministry of Education and Child Care, revised and effective 1 July 2006, exempts a child needing little or no change to materials or methods, whose learning outcomes are unmodified, or needing 25 hours or less a year of remedial instruction from someone other than the classroom teacher. BC curriculum tutoring covers how that curriculum is built. The Government of Alberta frames the same territory as inclusive education, and its page opens by saying inclusion "is not just about learners with special needs". Every province runs its own version, so look up your own ministry.
The honest problem with the free route is the wait. The Ontario Human Rights Commission's Right to Read inquiry found that nearly a quarter of students with special education needs in the boards it examined waited more than a year for a psychoeducational assessment, and that in five of six boards supplying wait lists, some waited more than 600 days. The Commission wrote that "Because of the long wait for board assessments, parents who can afford to pay get private assessments", and called the result a "two-tiered system". It recommended boards stop requiring an assessment before providing interventions or accommodations at all. Raise that with your school, because it means support does not have to wait.
The reading programmes, and what each one asks of a tutor
If the difficulty is decoding, spelling or reading fluency, you will hear three names used as though they were interchangeable. They are not.
Orton-Gillingham Academy
Four levels: Classroom Educator, Associate, Clinical, and Fellow. Clinical, renamed from Certified, denotes an independent practitioner. Its published minimum is 100 hours of coursework on top of the 70 at Associate level, for 170 in total, plus 200 supervised practicum lessons over at least two academic years on top of the 100 at Associate, for 300 in total. Ten must be full 40 to 60 minute lessons observed on site by a Fellow. A bachelor's degree is a prerequisite.
Wilson Reading System
Wilson Language Training issues professional credentials on top of its certifications, and the difference catches people out. The Wilson Dyslexia Practitioner and Wilson Dyslexia Therapist designations are each valid for five years and must be renewed, taking 50 professional learning credits in that window. The underlying Level I and Level II certifications do not expire. So a tutor can hold a certification that never lapses while their practitioner designation has quietly run out. Ask about both.
Barton Reading & Spelling
Barton describes itself as "Orton-Gillingham Influenced" rather than Orton-Gillingham, and is explicit about who may teach it: "You do not need to be a professional educator to tutor with Barton. Anyone who passes the Tutor Screening can become a Barton tutor." Each level comes with three to five hours of streaming tutor training plus lesson plans and materials, and no formal diagnosis is required to start. Its evidence page offers 15 studies it describes as independent, a claim the programme publishes about itself rather than an independent review.
Three to five hours per level at one end, 170 hours of coursework and 300 supervised lessons at the other, all tracing back to Orton-Gillingham. That is not an argument for the most expensive option, since Barton is built so a committed parent can teach it at the kitchen table. It is an argument for asking which programme, at what level, before you agree a rate.
The approach underneath all three has a name worth knowing. The International Dyslexia Association Ontario Branch defines structured literacy as "an evidence-based instructional approach that fosters strong reading and writing instruction for all students", necessary for people with dyslexia though useful for everyone. The same page states that balanced literacy and guided reading "have NOT proven effective with students who have dyslexia". If a tutor calls their method balanced literacy, that is a direct answer to your question, and how to improve reading comprehension covers what does help at each grade.
Executive function coaching has no regulator
Parents whose child loses homework, misjudges time and cannot start a task are often pointed toward executive function or ADHD coaching. It can help. It is also the one category here with no government licence and no single governing body.
The National Board of Executive Function Certification, a private American credentialing body, is unusually clear about its limits. Its credentials require a degree, 85 hours of training and a proctored examination, and of its designations it says: "This designation is based on education and experience only. It does not imply licensure." That fairly describes the whole category. Judge this one on what the coach does week to week and what they show you afterwards.
What an assessment costs, and what the wait buys you
The Learning Disabilities Association of Ontario states the rule plainly: in Ontario, only a Psychologist or a Psychological Associate registered with the provincial college may communicate a diagnosis, because that is a legally controlled act. The regulator is now the College of Psychologists and Behaviour Analysts of Ontario. A psychometrist or psychoeducational consultant is typically a master's-level professional who is not registered with the college and usually works under supervision, and cannot independently give you a diagnosis.
A comprehensive assessment is not a test. It draws on parent and teacher input, observation, a records review and formal measures across reasoning, processing, memory, attention, academic skills and social and emotional functioning, usually over more than one day.
The two published Toronto prices sit close together. The Assessment Clinic publishes $4,000 for a comprehensive assessment on a timeline of about three weeks. The Toronto Neurodevelopmental Centre publishes $4,500 for a comprehensive psychoeducational assessment covering 15 to 18 clinical hours, and $2,150 for gifted screening. Provincial health insurance does not cover a private assessment, though some workplace health plans cover services delivered by a registered psychologist, which is worth checking before you book. Is tutoring tax deductible in Canada covers what the tax system will recognise. So the trade is a four-figure private bill against a wait that ran past a year for nearly a quarter of the students the Commission examined.
The paid options, one by one
Every claim below is quoted from the provider's own live page, read on 8 September 2026.
Edify Learning Spaces
The only provider on Google's first page built specifically for this audience, and its own wording is careful. Its tutors have "Orton Gillingham (OG) training, The Science of Reading, Susan Barton or use an OG-inspired reading method". The final item is materially weaker than the first three and the page joins them with "or", so the sentence does not guarantee Orton-Gillingham training. Ask about the tutor you are offered rather than the agency. Edify says its educators trained in education or a mental health related field, have Canadian classroom experience, and have three years working with children like theirs. No price published.
Oxford Learning
A Canadian franchise with a named service for learning differences, naming autism, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, auditory processing, dyslexia, dyscalculia, dysgraphia and visual motor deficit. It does not state whether its tutors are certified teachers, which is worth asking a local centre. To its credit, the page carries a clear boundary in its own words: Oxford Learning "cannot diagnose any learning difficulty or challenge" and "Only a licensed professional is able to provide a diagnosis." No price published.
Tutor Doctor
In-home and online tutoring through local franchises. The Vancouver special-needs page lists autism, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, auditory and visual processing disorders, non-verbal and language-based learning disabilities, deafness and blindness. It says a parent can rest assured their child is getting support from "professionals with special education experience", a franchise-level statement rather than a named certification. No price published. This is also the page carrying the 59% error, so treat its figures with care.
Prep Academy Tutors
In-home tutoring through Canadian franchises, and the clearest example of a pattern worth recognising. The Midtown Toronto page says what sets it apart is that its tutors are "all certified and accredited". Learning-difference experience appears inside individual tutor biographies and per-tutor tags such as Special Education and Wilson Reading Program. There is no company-wide special-needs service page, so that experience belongs to particular people rather than a standard. Ask about the person rather than the brand. No flat price published.
Genie Teacher
We should be straight about our own position, because the same test applies. Genie matches families to provincially certified Canadian teachers and verifies each teacher's credentials against the provincial registry before their profile goes live. What Genie does not publish is any learning-differences service, and there is no filter for it. Where it appears, it appears exactly as at Prep Academy: inside individual teachers' own biographies. Rates are per teacher, and the cards on the search page on 8 September 2026 carried $45, $50, $55 and $72 an hour. So Genie answers "my child is failing Grade 10 maths and needs a teacher who knows that course". It does not answer "my child needs a structured literacy intervention from a trained practitioner".
General marketplaces: Superprof, Preply, Wyzant
The widest selection, the lowest prices, and the most work left with you. The vetting is the thing to understand. Wyzant states its own policy plainly: it "does not require tutors on its website to have a background check conducted on themselves while registering", and a check happens only if a student or guardian buys one. The check runs a name, address and social security number through a United States criminal database, which limits what it tells a Canadian family about a Canadian tutor. Preply's own site presents itself as a language-learning marketplace and publishes no qualification standard we could find. Superprof refused every attempt on 8 September 2026, so we could retrieve no vetting standard from it. That is a statement about our attempt rather than their process, and a fair question to put to them.
Your provincial learning disabilities association
Not a tutoring company, and it belongs here because it will tell you what to ask for before you spend anything. The Learning Disabilities Association of Ontario publishes the plain facts on who can assess and who can diagnose, and the Learning Disabilities Association of Canada does the same nationally. Several provincial associations run their own tutoring programmes, free.
Seven questions to ask before you hire
Each comes from something specific above, and any provider worth hiring will answer all seven without hesitating.
- 1. Which credential does this particular tutor hold, and who issued it? A teaching certification, a programme certificate and a coaching credential are three different things.
- 2. If it is a teaching certification, does it include special education training? In Ontario that means the Special Education Additional Qualification. Ask which part.
- 3. If it is a reading programme, which one and at what level? Barton at three to five hours per level and the Orton-Gillingham Academy Clinical level at 170 hours plus 300 supervised lessons are both real answers, and very different ones.
- 4. If the credential must be renewed, is it current? Wilson practitioner designations lapse after five years while the underlying certification does not. Ask for the date.
- 5. Will you read my child's IEP or assessment, and tell me how you will adapt to it? This separates a specialist from a generalist quickly.
- 6. Do you claim to diagnose, or to write or approve an IEP? The answer must be no. Any other answer ends the conversation.
- 7. What will you show me after each session, and how will I know in six weeks whether this is working? Ask for the artefact rather than a promise.
What nobody on this list can do
Three boundaries hold, however good the tutor or large the company.
No tutor can diagnose a learning disability. In Ontario that is a controlled act reserved to a psychologist or psychological associate registered with the College of Psychologists and Behaviour Analysts of Ontario. Oxford Learning states the same limit on its own page, which is the right way to handle it.
No tutor can write or approve an IEP. It is a school board process under provincial regulation, involving parents and school staff. A tutor can read the plan and work to it, which is useful at a school meeting and different from authoring it.
No tutor is a speech-language pathologist or a psychologist. Where the difficulty is speech, language processing or something clinical, that is a regulated health profession with its own college.
How many Canadian children this affects
There is no single agreed figure, and you should be suspicious of any page that gives you one.
Statistics Canada's Canadian Survey on Disability for 2022, released on 8 October 2024, found 5.6% of Canadians aged 15 and over have a learning disability, rising to 9.2% among people aged 15 to 24. It carries no child data. For children, three figures circulate from different surveys and years: 4.9% of children aged 6 to 15 from data collected between 1994 and 2001, cited by the Learning Disabilities Association of Ontario; 3.2% of Canadian children from Statistics Canada's 2006 survey, cited by the Learning Disabilities Association of Canada, which also puts learning disabilities at 59.8% of children who have any disability; and about 6.9% of Ontario's school population implied by 2015-16 provincial data. Those cannot be averaged and none is current. They agree on the order of magnitude: between one child in thirty and one in fifteen. The national association's own phrase for it is "one child in every busload".
Where a certified teacher fits
Two of the eleven routes involve a certified teacher, and what that adds is not everything.
The real advantage is the curriculum. A certified teacher has taught the course, knows what the province expects at that grade, and knows which topics the next course depends on. That second part gets overlooked: a certified teacher can chart which courses a student needs to reach a target programme, then concentrate the teaching on the parts that get them there, which is planning as much as teaching. For a child with a learning difference heading for a specific senior course, that is hard to find elsewhere on this list.
What certification does not supply is intervention, which is a separate skill. Some certified teachers have both, so ask rather than assume. Many families run two things at once: a specialist for the underlying difficulty, and a subject teacher for the course at risk this term.
Start with the school, because identification and the IEP only come from there and both are free. Call your provincial learning disabilities association the same week, because the guidance is free too and it will tell you what to ask the school for. If the wait is long, decide deliberately whether to pay privately, and ask the school what it will put in place meanwhile, since the Ontario Human Rights Commission has recommended that support should not be gated behind an assessment.
Then choose the paid route by the problem, not by the ranking. Decoding and spelling point to a structured reading practitioner. A failing course points to a teacher who has taught that course. Lost homework points to coaching, where the credentials mean less than the weekly evidence. Whichever you pick, ask the seven questions, and be more interested in the specific person than in the brand above them.
Related reading: Why a certified teacher closes the gap a "good at math" tutor can't →
- Ontario Ministry of Education, Special Education in Ontario policy and resource guide, requirements and identification chapters, on Regulation 181/98, the 30 school day IEP deadline and the Identification, Placement and Review Committee. Read 8 September 2026.
- LD@School on Ontario Policy and Program Memorandum 8, the identification definition of a learning disability. Read 8 September 2026.
- British Columbia Ministry of Education and Child Care, Inclusive Education policy, revised and effective 1 July 2006, and the Individual Education Plan Order M638/95. Read 8 September 2026.
- Government of Alberta, Inclusive education, on the continuum of universal, targeted and individualised supports. Read 8 September 2026.
- Ontario Human Rights Commission, Right to Read inquiry report, chapter 12 on professional assessments. Read 8 September 2026.
- Ontario College of Teachers, Additional Qualification prerequisites and course guidelines, on the Special Education Part 1, Part 2 and Specialist tiers and the course hour minimum. Read 8 September 2026.
- Learning Disabilities Association of Ontario, psychological assessment and learning disabilities statistics pages. Read 8 September 2026.
- Learning Disabilities Association of Canada, prevalence of learning disabilities. Read 8 September 2026.
- Statistics Canada, Canadian Survey on Disability 2022, released 8 October 2024. Read 8 September 2026.
- Orton-Gillingham Academy, Training and Certification, and the Clinical level page. Read 8 September 2026.
- Wilson Language Training, Wilson Professional Credentials. Read 8 September 2026.
- Barton Reading & Spelling System, how the Barton system works. Read 8 September 2026.
- International Dyslexia Association Ontario Branch, structured literacy. Read 8 September 2026.
- National Board of Executive Function Certification, professional credentials. Read 8 September 2026.
- The Assessment Clinic and the Toronto Neurodevelopmental Centre, published fee pages. Read 8 September 2026.
- Edify Learning Spaces, Oxford Learning learning-disabilities page, Tutor Doctor Vancouver special-needs page, Prep Academy Tutors Midtown Toronto page, Wyzant background check policy, Preply home page, and genieteacher.com. All read 8 September 2026.
Find your Teacher
FAQ
What is the best tutoring option for a child with a learning disability in Canada?
What is the best tutoring option for a child with a learning disability in Canada?
There is no single best option, because the routes do different jobs. Your school board is the only one that can identify your child formally and write an Individual Education Plan, and it charges nothing. For reading difficulties, a practitioner trained through the Orton-Gillingham Academy, Wilson or Barton teaches a specific structured method. For a failing course, a certified teacher who has taught that course is the better fit. Match the option to the problem rather than looking for an overall winner.
Does a certified teacher in Canada have special education training?
Does a certified teacher in Canada have special education training?
Not automatically. In Ontario, certification by the Ontario College of Teachers qualifies a teacher for a division such as primary or senior, and special education is a separate elective Additional Qualification with three tiers. Part 1 requires only base certification, Part 2 adds a year of successful teaching, and Specialist requires two years of teaching including at least one year with special education students under certified supervision. Ask which qualification the teacher holds and at which part.
How much does a psychoeducational assessment cost in Canada?
How much does a psychoeducational assessment cost in Canada?
The published Toronto prices sat at $4,000 at the Assessment Clinic and $4,500 at the Toronto Neurodevelopmental Centre for a comprehensive assessment when we checked on 8 September 2026, with gifted screening at $2,150 and testing for attention deficit hyperactivity disorder or autism able to add more. Provincial health insurance does not cover private assessments, although some workplace health plans cover services from a registered psychologist. Through a school board there is no fee, but the wait can be long.
How long is the wait for a school board assessment in Ontario?
How long is the wait for a school board assessment in Ontario?
The Ontario Human Rights Commission's Right to Read inquiry found that nearly a quarter of students with special education needs in the boards it examined waited more than a year, and that in five of six boards providing wait lists, some students waited more than 600 days. The Commission also recommended that boards stop requiring an assessment before providing interventions or accommodations, so ask your school what it can put in place while you wait.
Are Orton-Gillingham, Wilson and Barton the same thing?
Are Orton-Gillingham, Wilson and Barton the same thing?
All three trace back to the Orton-Gillingham approach, but the training behind them differs enormously. Barton states that no teaching background is needed and that each level comes with three to five hours of tutor training. Wilson issues practitioner designations that must be renewed every five years. The Orton-Gillingham Academy's Clinical level requires 170 hours of coursework and 300 supervised practicum lessons over at least two academic years. Ask which programme and which level.
Can a tutor diagnose dyslexia or write an IEP?
Can a tutor diagnose dyslexia or write an IEP?
No, on both counts. In Ontario, communicating a diagnosis is a controlled act reserved to a psychologist or psychological associate registered with the College of Psychologists and Behaviour Analysts of Ontario. An Individual Education Plan is a school board process under provincial regulation, involving parents and school staff. A tutor can read the plan and work to it, which is useful, but cannot author it.
Are tutor marketplaces safe for a child with a learning difference?
Are tutor marketplaces safe for a child with a learning difference?
They offer the widest choice and the lowest prices, and they leave the most checking to you. Wyzant's own policy states it does not require tutors to have a background check when registering, and that a check happens only when a student or guardian purchases one, using a United States criminal database. Preply presents itself as a language-learning marketplace and publishes no qualification standard we could find. We could not retrieve any published vetting standard from Superprof on 8 September 2026. If you use a marketplace, do the credential questions yourself.

